Android: I reset my account, how do I start studying?

So because I wanted to get some better control of exactly what I am studying, I reset everything and added the one list I wanted to study to my que.

Has the app changed how skritter works now? When I’m on the “home” tab, due cards and continuous are both greyed out, how do I start the “normal” skrittering where I start studying and skritter keeps adding words automatically?

You won’t like the answer, but succinctly: you don’t.

Skritter changed. The new mobile app follows a different paradigm than the old Skritter app (or website).

Skritter does not automatically add words. You don’t mark lists as “being studied”.

Instead, Skritter teaches you words by walking through a lesson for each new word you manually choose to add. You can learn from any list, any time, in any order.

After you say you want to learn a word, you’ll have the option to say it’s already learned, and Skritter will not take you through the teaching cycle, but will add it directly to your SRS queue.

So, you will need to go into your list, and “learn” words. Currently that is a “one-by-one” process. And my experience is if you try to do it too fast, the Skritter database has problems keeping up and doesn’t really add the words (you come back into Skritter later and find words you marked as learned as not marked that way).

This is pretty disheartening. I started using skritter many years ago because it kind of was this “artificial teacher” that added words automatically when you were ready to learn more. All you had to do was simply to start it up and then go.

Manually having to add words seems like a huge step in the wrong direction. It should be an option for those who likes to be in 100% control of what they study but they should force it on everyone.