Character on screen longer (or permanent)

Hi,
Is there a way to see a character for longer so you can get used to copying it as a complete beginner it’s frustrating to keep double tapping the screen on complicated characters, frustrated after finishing my free trial & not knowing whether to subscribe because I’m worried I will get fed up because of this…
Thankyou

1 Like

Which platform are you studying on? The HTML5 beta (on the web) has a ‘teaching mode’ that will eventually be rolled out to all the platforms but is still work in progress right now.

Thanks for the reply I am on iPad & iPhone but iPhone seems to work better when I tap screen so I am on that more
Thanks
Ian

Thanks I will check out the teaching mode when it’s rolled out & then start my subscription
Thanks again
Ian

I would add that most Skritter users find it helpful to see the characters in context before adding them in Skritter, as it’s not designed to be a standalone learning tool, but a companion for Chinese/Japanese learners. I would suggest finding a textbook, class, podcast, or something to get you going and adding characters you come across from there. Many common books and lessons have word lists already created in Skritter by other users.

This post is on a similar topic How to approach a new character within Skritter?

Hi, I’m glad you asked this question as I’m finding it frustrating too. I thought I was just being thick. When you work through the introduction it shows you how to write the first character, then you delete it and try again from memory - great! Then it rolls on to the next character and gives you a blank screen! I find the fact that you need to use Skritter alongside a textbook a bit strange, given that the show > draw > erase > re-draw method seems like a great way of doing things.