Disable study writing for certain decks

Dear team,

Is it possible to limit the studying of certain lists to not include writing? I am currently studying early HSK-lists and do want to include handwriting. At the same time I am studying more specific vocabulary (e.g. food), where I currently do not want to learn handwriting. There is a setting in the web-based version, but it does not seem to have an effect on the app.

Best,
Janis

1 Like

Hi Janis!

You can configure a review session in the mobile app to not include writings (via the settings screen that shows before the review session).

Thank you @Jeremy! I am not so bothered about the single session but more about the composition of my overall studying material. What I am thinking about is to create a mix of studying material, that I can review in one daily session. Definition and pinyin of all vocab, writing for HSK1 and 2 (possibly 3) vocab only. Reason being that for now I want to limit handwriting to core-vocab (possibly the around 500 characters suggested by @SkritterOlle at HackingChinese). I could obviously use Skritter only for writing practice and other apps for definition/pinyin, but preferably I can do it all in one app.

The problem I encountered yesterday seems to have been caused by my mistake, though: I had already “learned” the decks I wanted to restrict. It seems that if I restrict studying to definition and pinyin in the web-interface before “learning” a deck, it will only include the desired cards. For the future, I would find it helpful to have these choices in the app itself. Also, I do not know what I have to do if I want to add writing at a later stage. Will I have to “forget” and “relearn” the decks?

Best,
Janis