How to properly learn Pinyin

Hi all,

I just started learning Chinese (simplified), know a few dozen characters now. My biggest problem is remembering pronunciation.

What I think will help a lot is to better study Pinyin first, before I take on much more characters.

I got some things right from learning it through skritter with learning new characters, but I’d like some more structure and less distraction. So pure Pinyin.

I found tables, with audio, that help me a lot already. I just started using them. See the letters, pronounce it, see if I was correct. Is this the best way to do it or are there better ways? And is it possible somewhere to learn it the other way around, hearing just audio and then see if you wrote it down correct?

All help is much appreciated!

1 Like

Congratulations on your progress and decision to study Chinese!

One suggestion: you could click on the sound tab on Pleco dictionary and listen to each character being pronounced. You can download both male and female voices for the whole dictionary.

I think for basic character reading there is no cost for this? But there may be a cost involved in downloading more extensive sound files for Pleco’s reader series.

Also, Skritter has some new program for people new to character learning that may interest you - check out the other most recent thread under “Chinese” category.

1 Like

@Svenkevs

Found a few audio sites for you to practice:

Pinyin and tone pairs:
https://chinese.yabla.com/chinese-pinyin-chart.php

Phrases in both pinyin and characters:
https://www.chineselearnonline.com/tone-and-pinyin-practice/

An entire website dedicated to pinyin and tones:
http://pinyinpractice.com/wangzhi/

And a site with lots of links and other ideas for more practice, and other useful learning Chinese info:

All the best!

2 Likes

Great resources @Therebackagain thanks for sharing them!

1 Like