Huge problem: Skritter never trains "English to Mandarin"

I’ve been using Skritter for ~5 months and went all the way up to HSK5. However, now I feel a little stuck, because I realized:

Skritter never trains “English to Mandarin”. It never asks you "How to say >>a fine; violation ticket<< in Mandarin?"

Skritter only asks you the other way round: "What is the meaning of 罚单?“

For me, that’s a huge problem. I’m able to read and pronounce almost anything I’m seeing, but when I try to speak I’m something missing “the most obvious words”. I’m still thinking in English, and in many instances then I can’t just remember what “a fine” means :). If I would see the 汉字 or hear the word, I would immediately know.

How have you solved this? Should I completely pivot away from Skritter and towards Anki? (any recommendations of HSK1-HSK5?)

PS: I only use it for Mandarin, not Japanese

3 Likes

Skritter already asks you how to write down a character/word presented to you in English, or whatever language you are using the app in. Perhaps it doesnt direcly ask you the translation of a given word in English, but keep in mind that Chinese is a logographic language where characters are the written representation of a concept and the way you “say” such concept.

When drawing a chracter/word, you should think about it as more of a 3-in-1 thing: the way it’s written, its meaning and its sound; therefore, when asked to write down the word Communism, you should also internally think about how it’s pronounced (tone included!, you can’t separate it from the “sound of the letters”), the meaning of “communism” and obviously the way to write it.

However, to aid this issue, I’d like to see a new type of card where, e.g., the word “tree” is presented in English (or even the concept/definition of such word, which is already found on Skritter, to up the game if one chooses so) and you have to answer by: