Initial issues after being away for a while

I have been away from Skritter for a while due to some personal issues. I must say the Skritter team has kept busy and improved the app quite a bit since I last used it. However I have noticed a few things in my brief return and I’m not sure if they have been mentioned before but I thought I would be remiss if I didn’t throw in my 2 cents. (This is for Android Japanese Skritter)

Raw Squigs: Maybe I am missing something but when I started studying Raw Squigs was turned off but the strokes I made didn’t morph to their spots. They did disappear if written incorrectly though. Turning Raw Squigs on seemed to make Skritter treat the writing area as more of a simple canvas with no deletion of strokes occuring.

Mnemonics: I love that I can now see individual mnemonics for each character by swiping left. However I did have quite a few issues.

1st issue is that it is not obvious that swiping left will reveal the mnemonics especially for users who have been away for a while and are coming back without going through the instructional tutorials. I would recommend putting a tip button about this by the mnemonics in the info section. This is since the info button is obvious and users are most likely to find the mnemonics there. I imagine it being like keyboard shortcuts listed on menu items in Adobe products.

2nd issue is it is not obvious how to edit the mnemonics in the info pannel. I need to scroll to the top of the info page to see the pencil. However to see my mnemonics I have to scroll to the bottom where the pencil can’t be seen (or rather I didn’t see it as it was part of the top banner and my brain just completely ignored it).