Japanese app confuses multiple definitions

人間 has two pronunciations, じんかん and にんげん, with two meanings. I’m studying one of the two:

When the word came up in 3.3.5 on Android, I got a mixture of the two definitions:

1. The question itself should be asking me for じんかん since that’s the only one I’m studying.
  2. The definition is for にんげん. (wrong)
  3. The sound played was にんげん. (wrong)
  4. The hiragana is じんかん. (correct)

This is definitely a bug, thanks for letting us know! Have you noticed this on any other words? Some words with the same base writing do have multiple entries with different definitions / readings however it looks like its getting mixed up with where to pull from on this entry.

This is the only word I’ve noticed it with. The sound is what tipped me off, and I frequently study in places where I can’t have the audio turned up.

I take that back. I had a bizarre experience while studying Chinese the other day that I just realized was an instance of this problem.

I am studying both 喂 and 餵. 喂 means “hello”, whereas 餵 means to feed, but in simplified Chinese 喂 takes on both meanings. Skritter’s definitions:

喂: hello (on the phone); hey; to feed
餵: to feed

As far as I am aware these are accurate, showing that the 口 version takes on both meanings, and the 食 version only means feed.

In any case, Skritter asked me to draw “hello (on the phone); hey; to feed”. Seeing “hello”, which is unique to 喂, I started drawing 喂, but got it wrong. It wanted 餵. At the time I thought that was strange, but figured hello was some fringe meaning of 餵 that I wasn’t aware of – Skritter’s definitions can be a bit over-inclusive.

But the reality is I was literally given the definition from one character, and was asked to draw the glyph from another one.