Japanese beginner listening resources

I started learning Japanese a while back, and so far I have mostly stuck to learning vocabulary in Skritter. I’ve learnt a few hundred words and kana, basically. I will eventually check out some textbooks and properly structured teaching materials, but I want to keep it lightweight for now.

I could, however, fit in a few hours of listening every week right now, and would like to hear your recommendations for what to listen to! The only requirement is that it has to be audio only, i.e. it can’t be something I have to study first and then access in audio format. I’m not very familiar with Japanese learning resources, but I would imagine podcasts, audio courses and the like would work well. What do you all recommend?

1 Like

I’m also curious what people have to suggest.

Taishukan makes an excellent series of extensive reading (多読 = tadoku) readers. See https://www.taishukan.co.jp/item/nihongo_tadoku/index_en.html. At the low end they aren’t quite as interesting as the Mandarin Companion books, and they sometimes rely on fringe vocabulary (e.g. having an anthropomorphized millstone as a character means learning the word for millstone), but I think they more than make up for that in quality, consistency, and volume. The really cool part is they have MP3s online for the books.

I haven’t tried using the MP3s on their own, only after reading the books. One thing I found challenging about them is the speakers can try to be dramatic, and the changes in volume and speed makes it harder to follow what they are saying. But that’s probably more authentic.

1 Like