Japanese Textbooks

Hello everyone.
I was curious about which textbook to use for my studies. I am currently studying Chinese and wanted to add Japanese into the mix seeing as I will travel there in a few years (I currently live in Taiwan).

I have been studying the textbook series Practical Audio Visual Chinese for my Chinese studies, but I haven’t been able to find anything comparable for Japanese. I have been using Human Japanese, but I would really like to find a regular textbook that I could order for study. If anyone has some suggestions on where to start I would be really grateful.

I don’t have much experience with textbooks (yet), but I guess most people will recommend either Genki I-II, the Minna no nihongo series (or maybe the Japanese from Zero series – the author also has some really useful videos on his YouTube channels, search for “Japanese in 5”).

Resources I found useful for self-study (actually, only the first one is a real textbook):

• Teach Yourself Complete Japanese:

• big con: full of roomaji (latin characters), in some editions, there are separate explanations for the very basics of reading and writing, but the advanced read-write book has to be bought additionally. I’d recommend learning both kinds of kana before ever opening this book, and then writing all your notes and test question answers using them (and, since you already know Chinese, perhaps, using kanji as well). Comes with 2 CDs, but the sample dialogs have really big pauses in them. I guess you’re supposed to repeat what you’ve heard during those pauses, but if you talk along with the voice actors, these pauses are more annoying than useful - I keep removing them with audio editor software as I’m walking through the lessons. Sometimes grammar explanations don’t expand all the details and usages of a construction or a phrase so I need to do additional research to figure those out.