New skritter user, impressions about web & mobile

I’m posting this in the website category but I’m actually using both the website and the mobile version (not the beta though). I’m studying Japanese and Chinese.

First of all I’m really enjoying using skritter, I always like to write the characters when I practice and skritter is great for this. I wish I had found it sooner.

I’ve noticed a few rough edges, nothing serious though, just some observations:

• The stats in the website have more information but they’re often inconsistent, in one place it says I have a streak of 1 day, in another place it shows my real streak. Number of minutes studied, etc. I think this started when I switched from Chinese to Japanese for the first time, and it seems to happen when I switch languages in the web interface. Nothing serious, and it seems to get it right after a reload or two. Stats in the app seem to always show the correct numbers (but some are only shown in the web interface).
  • It seems to me that studying Chinese in the web is mostly about drawing the characters. Only sometimes it shows meaning or reading prompts and almost never tone prompts. The app seems to distribute the kinds of prompt more equally. This may be a sampling bias.
  • As someone else mentioned in another topic for the web version, sometimes after writing the last stroke of a character the application automatically advances to the next test. I’m using a Wacom tablet on a Mac, and it may happen when the last stroke touches the right arrow on the edge of the writing pad, but I’m not sure.