Next steps after HSK 4

Dajiahao

I’m currently about to finish the HSK 4 vocab list. My ambition is to have a Chinese certificate, but for professional purposes, so taking a HSK 4 exam is probably just waste of time and money now - I’ll verify my level with the an online mock exam for myself.

Should I continue with the HSK 5 list or focus more on other lists? I’m studying “Chinese movie word frequency list 1001-2000” and like that one, it matches my knowledge and gaps, moving me forward more than the HSK 4 list.

HSK tends to be quite academic as an entrance requirement for Chinese schools, but that’s not my ambition. So is it even worth pursuing HSK 5/6? At the same time, there’s quite a big gap between HSK 4 and 5. I wouldn’t call HSK 4-level for fluency, but HSK 5 seems to be.

What’s your experience? What would you recommend at this learning stage? I’m quite fluent but I can’t say I can express myself hassle-free. I’m learning Chinese mostly for business and my Chinese wife.

Thanks

Adam

I would say do HSK 5 / 6 lists, I have done both and do not feel it is enough for fluency. The HSK lists are mostly relevant words used in everyday life or at least in the kind of materials you are likely to read day to day. You’re not wasting your time on very rare words and it gives a good basis to tackle real world materials and conversations.

I would suggest adding a chengyu list if you haven’t done one already. Maybe a character list to fill in some gaps. I prefer the big lists so long as they don’t have too many obscure words, as it cuts down on time spent deciding what to add next.