Question to long term users on progress

I’ve been using Skritter for about four months now. Studying about half an hour per day, in all four categories (writing, tones, meaning and Pinyin). And being pretty strict to myself. If I make a silly mistake on something I actually know pretty well, I will fail that card and ask for review. I find that this does help refine my learning of that word. Also I only add new words when I have time left, so I generally max out to about 180 reviews or thereabouts.

One thing that has been motivating to me is that I was adding new words to my learned list. Lately though (at 1200 words and 800 unique characters), that effect has tapered off (feels like a logarithmic scale going on), and can be in review mode for several days, sometimes a few weeks, without adding new words. I read somewhere that this happens a lot and can be considered normal. I get that. Guess this can be considered polishing out the rough edges.

My particular question: has anyone had this too a few months or years back and stuck to it? In the end, can you still end up at HSK6 or more this way? Or did you get stuck for months and months at HSK4 (for example), and never added anything new anymore, without cutting some corners left or right?