Religion Deck?

Hey SkritterJake, would you guys ever considering making a deck with religious terminology? I’m a Christian living in America, and one of the reasons I started learning Mandarin was to be able to have intelligent conversations with international students without needing English. Thanks!

Dear 1119,
Try typing “Good News” in the “Browse Lists” search box (on the website) and you should get four relevant results.
These correspond to privately published instructional books, and the vocabulary lists are under Skritter’s “Textbooks” section. For user published lists you might try terms like “Christianity” or “religion.” There is a deck for the Apostle’s Creed that has the creed in the description.

1 Like

Website now has a “share link” option under the tool bar for individual decks (website only right now) which will provide a URL to open any public deck on the web or mobile apps. Should be easier to share stuff vs. our nasty search!

1 Like

Also I just wanted to let you know that Christianity or any religion can be quite tabu when talking to strangers in China. Especially when going abroad you dont want to get into troubles with the authorities

1 Like

Agree @sirati , for sure, these days that’s among a number of subjects to avoid discussing - as a foreigner - unless you really, really know the person well. (Mind you, that’s good advice in Canada too! Not from an authority point of view but we generally consider religion to be a private matter.)

Other topics to be careful about include discussing the Uighur situation, anything to do with human rights, Falungong, any criticism of Xi Jinping, Taiwan, Tibet, Hong Kong…its a long list, in recent years. These were not such sensitive topics, or at least foreigners were indulged in discussing them, up until just a few years ago.