Skritter 101, the char. 起 is not introduced before the word 對不起

I am just starting out with Skritter, working through Skritter 101, and was surprised to find that 起 was not introduced as a stand alone character before being introduced as part of 對不起. The component parts of 起 were introduced. Not a big deal for me, I added 起 in my own small list so it is covered. Just something that popped up as odd to me. I have read through the other forum comment about skritter 101 asking why gen3 was included, so I do realize there is a different take on how we want to learn things.

Also my first forum comment. :slight_smile:

Hi!

I haven’t designed the list, so bear that in mind. Perhaps @SkritterJake can explain if the things you mentioned are intentional or not. In any case, if I had designed the list, I wouldn’t necessarily introduce all parts of all words before the words and all character components before the components. I can see that that is mostly the case with the list, but I usually do it the other way around if the whole word is more common/useful than the single character, which is certainly the case in your example. Regarding 艮, which is the character I think you refer to, I’m pretty sure it’s included because it’s a fairly common phonetic component, such as in 很、跟、根 etc.

Also, welcome to the forum! :slight_smile:

I wonder if it’s because 起 has so many meanings that it might be confusing to introduce it so early. When I started learning Chinese I learnt “duibuqi” for “sorry” long before I knew the various and complex uses for 起 (or for that matter 对!).