Skritter Developer API

Hi! I’m a developer working on open source projects in my spare time. I’m interested in making an Anki plugin to sync from/to Skritter by finding correspondences between content in the user’s vocabulary on both sides wherever possible (thus not copying any copyrighted data from Skritter). Based on my discussions with several Chinese learners, this would be highly useful, since many of us already have thousands of cards in Anki but would like to use Skritter for the writing part. It would also be useful in the opposite direction, if I want to start using Skritter and “import” my vocabulary.

I see some very old mentions of a Skritter API, is that still a thing? In that case, how would I go about applying for an API key? I also see in the browser that there are nice endpoints for interacting with a user’s vocabulary, but using those I assume would fall outside of ToS?

Thanks!

For anyone else who might want to use the skritter API, I managed to create a developer account by using the special APICLIENT coupon code, and retrieved the client id and client secret by logging in to legacy.skritter.com. I guess this is still OK, even though it was a bit hard to find the instructions. I’m pleasantly surprised to see such a complete API, I hope I can do something useful with it, and if so I’ll be sure to post it here.

Hey, good luck on your project! If a user wants to give your client their login info and it receives a valid token for their account, you can basically do any interactions you could do through the website (add vocab, custom definitions, mnemonics, etc.) programmatically.