Studying starred items

Hello, everybody.

I’m new to using the website (been mostly using the iOS app to study Chinese). I can’t seem to find a way to study ONLY the starred items in any specific list. Sure, there’s a way to study ALL the starred items, but I want to focus on 1, or maximum 3 lists at a time.

In the iOS version it’s somewhat possible to do this, but the feature is really bugged. It only works sometimes, but it mostly just loops a few items (starred or not), and very often just individual characters and not the words…

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I would like to know the same thing for android.

@ablade unfortunately you’re not able to have that much control over starred items. Sad to say it, but the feature is super buggy. It’s on our list of things to update, but compared to some of the other changes we would like to make, it’s a pretty low priority item.

@Johnnetta Don’t expect that level of control on Android any time soon, but when we release the big update later this summer you’ll be able to at least focus studies on stared items.

Thanks. I found a simple way around it in case anyone is also trying to study only their starred items: I exported all the starred items, copied them, and created a new list called “Starred” where I pasted them. Then, I just keep updating the list as necessary.

1 Like

Awesome! That’s certainly one way to do it. Glad you found a solution that allows you to focus on those pesky starred items.

1 Like

I am trying to find out what starring an item actually does. Your website doesn’t really say, nor does the FAQ or the help materials on the app… Thanks!

There’s an option in advanced study (at least on iOS) to emphasise starred items. Not really sure what that does though.