Trouble understanding stats & differences between versions 1.0/2.0

Hi there!

I’ve been studying Chinese actively since the start of 2017 when, coincidentally, I also decided to start using Skritter. Little by little I’ve worked my way up until half-way of HSK 5, and this fabulous app is the only one responsible for it, so pretty happy with the results!

However, aside from some minor bugs every now and then, there seems to be some kind of incongruence between the stats and what I’m supposed to know, as well as between the stats coming from the Legacy 1.0 version and the current one

Now, being currently where I am with HSK5 (and having done HSK1-4 as well as some bits of other lists), I should know around 1500-600 words but as you can see on my stats (here 1.0 and 2.0 seem to agree) I actually only know around 1200 words!

I guess this means that the other 300 i should know, well, I don’t fully know them, specially considering a) how my brain confuses characters that have a “format” similar to 套/参/春,etc. or b) the fact that adding on average 10 new words per day makes fully learning each of them a longer process. Another possibility is that some of the words in the HSK list are actually considered “characters only” by the algorythm, which are then only classified into the 1173 characters the website tells me I know.

Thus I’d like to have an official explanation of why my stats look like this, as well as another one for why the Legacy 1.0 version tells me my retention rate is close to 90% while the 2.0 is closer to 80%, among other differences.

Thank you all for your time and really appreciate your continuos efforts on improving the app!

Have a great day!

1 Like

I’ve also noticed that each day I study is counted as if I had studied the day before, not the current one.

For example: I studied yesterday, 3rd of July but on the website it appears as if I had studied on 2nd of July. Interestingly, on the calendar on top of the stats page is displayed correctly.