When is something wrong?

This morning I got 翠玉白菜, and I had forgotten how to write 翠. (I should say, as usual I had forgotten how to write 翠.) I was surprised when I got to the end of my short session I was congratulated on getting 0 wrong.

I didn’t get zero wrong. I couldn’t write 翠玉白菜.

I checked on the web site; it says I last studied the Rune for 翠玉白菜 this morning and will next study it in a month. That’s seems a bit far out for something I just got wrong.

When I look up 翠 on its own the web site says I last studied the Rune 3 months ago and is next up in 12 days. That’s odd since I have never studied it on its own. If it says anything at all, I’d expect it to say I studied it this morning.

On the old web site, and in the latest app, I also find out that I’ve written 翠玉白菜 correctly 29 times out of 30. That is complete nonsense. The old web site more realistically says I have a 64% success rate with 翠 (ergo the only compound using it, 翠玉白菜, should be 64% as well).

I haven’t paid a lot of attention to words’ statistics – I always assumed they reflected my performance but now I’m not so sure. As for the app, I get things wrong all the time for missing only 1/N characters, so I’m puzzled why I didn’t this time.

1 Like

We’ll look under the hood. Could be a flaw in the logic when words are more than X characters. The fact that this doesn’t happen regularly is a good thing, but the expected behavior for this particular word is that it is graded as incorrect as you state, and it should be due again at the end of the session for another review.

I’ve made a note to investigate with Josh. We’ll keep ya posted.

1 Like