When to add both vs just trad or simplified

So I am curious about peoples opinions. There is alot of debate on learning simplified vs traditional and which one to learn first, but in my case I started learning in taiwan so I went traditional first. I am crossing 2k characters and am starting to work through a few books but I was curious when people would recommend flipping on simplified to study as well. I have been doing skritter about a year but studying chinese on and off for many years so the first 1000 were pretty fast.

I have read a few things in simplified and am somewhat familiar with alot of the radical simplications so I find I can kinda read simplified I just occasionally get hung up and have to guess which character it is.

I was kinda leaning towards adding simplified in once I hit 3k but I was just curious about the about people opinions and thoughts.

I don’t think it matters much in terms of what is most effective, because practical considerations are going to be more important in almost all cases anyway. Do you need to write simplified characters now? If the answer is yes, go ahead, it’s not very hard, there are only a few hundred tricky cases. There is a nice website that aims to teach simplified to people who already know traditional. It’s old and doesn’t have a fancy interface, but is still useful: check it out here. If you don’t need them right now, switching later doesn’t hurt. I tend to think that the better you know one set, the easier it will be to learn the other, but you’re already beyond the basics, so any difference is bound to be very small.

1 Like

Fair enough, thanks for the feedback. That site looks good I will probably file it away and revisit simplified in a while once I have more of a need for simplified. Now that amazon has traditional ebooks it isn’t as urgent as it once was