Why include 艮 in Chinese 101?

I’m just learning Chinese, so I am curious - why is gen3 included in the “skritter Chinese 101” list? According to http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radical_138 it’s the single LEAST useful kangxi radical. Can you help me to understand why it’s important?

My guess would be because it’s contained as a character component in so many other characters. Other than the ever-used 很 , there are many other. Attached Is a screenshot from my Pleco dictionary. There are many more!

1 Like

I think there is a misunderstanding here! A radical is a character that is used to categorise other characters in dictionaries. Therefore, when it says “there are just five characters (out of 49,030) to be found under this radical”, this doesn’t mean that it’s not a common character component, it just means that few characters have 艮 as their radical. As @Apomixis correctly points out, 艮 is quite common as a phonetic component, which makes it useful to know. Hope this helps!

1 Like

@SkritterOlle, @Apomixis … thanks for the replies!!! Further questions abound.

I didn’t realize there was a difference. It seems like there are are ways one character can be “in” another character - both as a radial and as a phonetic component? I had only read about radicals before. Is there some online resource which explains these differences, and also explains why Wikipedia might say something like “it’s very infrequent” while an online dictionary shows it as frequent?

Also … how does knowing this base character (which by itself seems pretty useless) help me to

1. Pronounce a never-before-seen character? (It seems like the answer is no, based on the above screenshot)
  2. Guess the how a previously unseen character is written? (This also seems like the answer is no, based on the above)