Wrong tone marker for 一 in several words

Im no expert and still early on in my chinese journey but I think 一 is one of those characters that can change its tone depending on what word it is used in, much like 不 for example.

This page might provide some insight

https://resources.allsetlearning.com/chinese/pronunciation/Tone_change_rules#Tone_Changes_for_.E4.B8.80_.28y.C4.AB.29

This is by design. In most dictionaries, you will see 一 written as a first tone, even in words where it’s never pronounced with a fist tone (which would be most words). In an educational context, such as Skritter, we are a little bit more free and can do whatever we think is most helpful for students. In the case of 一 and 不, we have decided to show tone changes in words that are pronounced with a different tone, which is true in your cases (it’s always pronounced as shown in Skritter, even though what you wrote next to it will show up in dictionaries). If you want to read more about this, please check this blog post:

Good luck with your studying!

1 Like

“it’s always pronounced as shown in Skritter, even though what you wrote next to it will show up in dictionaries” Not in my experience, I’ve encountered tered many words where the accepted tone is the original tone and many where the accepted tone is the changed tone, that’s what has led to the confusion

可口可乐 and 所以 are two examples, neither of them take the rule regarding third tones into account

He explicitly conditioned this on these two special cases. This makes sense to me since these tone changes occur 100% of the time, and my goal is to speak Chinese – not to write dictionaries. In the case of third tone sandhi, it is sensitive to adjacent words and so I’d rather practice the raw third tones than a cooked version that is only guaranteed to be accurate if the word is spoken in isolation.